Broken Ties by Kenechi Udogu

61s02msmrfl-__bg0000_fmpng_ac_ul320_sr214320_

Broken Ties


Author: Kenechi Udogu

Published on: 13 May 2014

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal

Series: The Mentalist Series #0.5

Pages: 84

Format: Kindle Edition

Add it on Goodreads

★★

“There was nothing unusual about the night everything changed. No flashing lights in the sky, no searing fire in my belly; no sign whatsoever to suggest the shift which was to come…Nora Brice did strange things to me. Strange and awful things…” 

Paul Colt has a problem, and it is not one most teenage boys face. Yes, he likes a girl; one he’s pretty certain he’ll do foolish things for, given the chance. But he can’t go after her, or any other girl for that matter. That’s what he gets for being an Averter; forced to toe the line for the propagation of the collective. He knows some rules are okay to trifle with, and there are some which should never be broken. The gravest of them all? 

Don’t fall in love. 

Ever. 

This is the story of how Paul breaks that rule. 

This prequel novella to the Mentalist Series can be read before or after Aversion, Book One of The Mentalist Series.

I would like to thank the author, Kenechi Udogu, for giving me the chance to review her wonderful series. The review for Broken Ties is the prequel in the series. If you have yet to read my review of the first 3 novels, you can read Aversion, 1st novel in the series, here, Sentient, 2nd novel in the series, here and Keepers, 3rd novel in the series, here.😀

Broken Ties is a prequel to The Mentalist Series. The story follows Paul, Gemma’s father when he was just a young boy. It follows the struggles he faces as an Averter, of which includes the ‘strange’ attraction he feels between Nora and him. Broken Ties is an extremely short read with such incredible character building that I simply couldn’t put the novel down once I started reading it.

I chose to read Broken Ties after finishing Aversion, Sentient, and Keepers as I wanted to have a deeper understanding of Paul’s character. After reading the ‘trilogy’, I have so many questions regarding Paul’s behaviour and thought processes. Reading Broken Ties shed light on reasons behind his decision making in several situations. I’m able to understand why he loves Gemma so much and is so afraid of losing her.

It is refreshing to read about ‘younger’ Paul after getting to know the ‘older’ Paul. It is pretty entertaining to know that the more serious and over-protective Paul can be a shy and timid boy who gets confused over his own feelings. I remember smiling like a fool when I was reading about Paul being all confused over the ‘weird’ attraction he feels whenever he is with Nora. Being able to see Paul transitioning from childhood to adulthood allows me to understand certain choices he makes in order to keep Gemma safe.

Nora is a wonderful, bubbly and energetic character. She brings out the best in Paul and is not hesitant in letting him into her heart. Though I’m not a fan of instant-love, I know what the Sentient Link can accomplish. Thus, I love to see the chemistry bubbling and blooming between Nora and Paul.

I wish that the story can be longer though. I want to know what happens to Nora and Paul after they ran away. The kind of lifestyle they lead, the struggles they face, and the birth of Gemma. I’m dying to know more! It really feels more like a cliffhanger than an ending. 😦

On the whole, ‘The Mentalist Series’ has been an amazing series from the start to the end. I thoroughly enjoy reading the entire series, from Aversion to Broken Ties. It has been a rollercoaster ride and I’ve seen Gemma, Russ, Paul, everyone grow and develop so much throughout the course of the series. I would highly recommend this series to everyone out there, who loves paranormal romance novels, to give this series a shot. I would like to give the author, Kenechi Udogu, a huge thank you once again for giving me the opportunity to dive in head first into this wonderful world you’ve created. 🙂

1 Comment

Leave a comment