Swan Song by Charlotte Wilson

36186766

Swan Song


Author: Charlotte Wilson

Published on: 12 September 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Romance

Pages: 224

Format: E-book

Add it on Goodreads

★★

LOVE AND LONGING IN THE BRIGHT LIGHTS OF LONDON

When iconic ballerina Beatrice Duvall died, a nation mourned – and a legacy was born. Sixteen years later, her daughter Ava comes to London to take part in a high-profile tribute to Beatrice, and to learn about the mother she never knew. 

There’s just one snag: the tribute is a ballet, Swan Lake. Which is infinitely painful for Ava, because she can’t dance. Won’t dance. Not since she quit the Royal Ballet School last year and walked away from everything that defined her. 

But this is London, colourful and crazy, and with actor Seb at her side, there’s so much to discover. Like Theatreland razzmatazz and rooftop picnics and flamingo parties. And a whole load of truths Ava never knew about her mother – and herself. 

When the time comes to take the stage, will Ava step out of the shadow cast by her mother’s pedestal? And who will be waiting for her there, in the bright lights? 

A coming-of-age novel about family and first love, in the city of hopes and dreams.

I would like to give a huge thank you to the author, Charlotte, for giving me the opportunity to read her amazing novel in exchange for an honest review. 😀

First thing first, wow… This novel takes my breath away. It is so different from any of the other novels I’ve read so far. Swan Song focuses more on Ava and her overcoming the struggles she face with dancing, family, and love. This novel is definitely a hidden gem 

Swan Song is so well written and easy to follow that I’m hooked to it almost instantly. I love how realistic this novel is. Although I’ve never experienced anything Ava had gone through, I’m still able to relate to her. That is one of the reasons why Swan Song is so unique.

The aspect which I love the most about this novel will be the characters. The characters are really well developed, especially Ava and Seb. I fell in love with Seb after reading about the part where he had his first interaction with Ava. Moreover, he is outgoing, caring, has a sense of humor, and is the kind of person people would like to hang out or make friends with.

Another aspect that I love about this novel would be the romance. I like how the chemistry between the two main characters grow and blossom over the course of the novel. I love to read about Seb and how much he cares about Ava. Over the course of the novel, I’m hoping that Ava would grow an extra pair of eyes to see, for herself, how much Seb actually likes her.

Though the world building isn’t extraordinary in Swan Song, it is sufficiently well-crafted in such a way that I’m able to feel as if I’ve been to London and ‘see’ the places Ava been to, first handedly.

~SPOILERS~

At some instances in the novel, Ava might have doubted Seb’s intentions of getting close to her. Because of a certain someone. >_> But, much to my surprise, I didn’t feel irritated or upset about it. Somehow, I’m able to relate to Ava. After all, she lost her mother and had no memories of Seb, Noah, and Thisbe. I’m sure it is pretty overwhelming for Ava when Seb told her that she actually stayed in their house for a few years when she was young.

All in all, Swang Song is an amazing read. I highly recommend this novel to all readers out there who have yet to pick this novel up.

Leave a Reply

