P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han

20698530

P.S. I Still Love You


Author: Jenny Han

Published on: 26 May 2015

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 337

Format: Paperback

Add it on Goodreads

★★

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

‘P.S I Love You’ is the 2nd installment to ‘All The Boys I’ve Loved Before’ trilogy. Oh my, this novel suffers the second book syndrome. I was expecting so much more from this novel since I really enjoyed reading the 1st novel but I’m disappointed with how things turn out.

There isn’t much progression in the 2nd novel. The plot is mundane as its main focus is on Lara’s everyday life and the relationship issues she has to overcome after going out with Peter. For the entire novel, Lara and Peter’s relationship is like a rollercoaster ride. Initially, when they just got together, both of them are lovebirds, and then they argue and start giving each other the cold shoulder. The only exciting part in ‘P.S I Love You’ is the appearance of the other boy. His character is fresh, gentlemanly and it brightens the moody plot. It is a joy getting to know him as a character because he has a unique personality. Sometimes, I wish Lara would just dump Peter and be with him instead. After all, he treats Lara way better than Peter.

~SPOILERS~

What makes me so irritated in this novel is none other than Peter and Lara. Gosh! Peter knows his ex-girlfriend is posting scandalous pictures of Lara and him on social media, and Lara’s reputation and image get tarnished because of that. Yet, Peter still stands up for his ex when Lara tells him she suspects that the culprit is his ex-girlfriend. That makes me so mad. I want to just go up to Peter and knock some sense into him! Peter, what is your problem? >_>

In addition, Lara gets upset about Peter rushing over to his ex whenever she calls him. As a result, both of them argue. Even when Lara wants to know the reason why Peter keeps rushing over to his ex every time she calls him, Peter isn’t willing to tell Lara the truth. Instead, he ALWAYS says that it isn’t his story to tell. After patching up, the issue consistently keeps occurring throughout the course of the novel. At some point, I’m thinking why Lara wants to continue on with this relationship if the two of them are going to continue on with this endless cycle of arguments and patch ups. Like, I don’t see the point?

All in all, this novel could have been much better. I’m irritated with Lara and Peter for 70% of the time while I’m reading this novel. I’m hesitant to pick up the final installment in this trilogy now… Even though I heard so many good things about it.

Leave a Reply

