August Wrap Up

August has been a pretty hectic month for me. Since the 1st semester of University just started and I’m still trying to adapt to the fast paced uni life. Nonetheless, I’m glad I managed to finish 3 books despite being tied down by my academic work.

26156203

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

★★

I read this novel because I heard it closely resembles The Night Circus which I love and adore to bits. I’m able to see the resemblance and that is partially the reason why I love this novel as well. Though I feel there are much more potential for this novel to be better, I love the characters and chemistry between the main protagonists. 🙂

29385546

Warcross by Marie Lu

★★

I don’t think I’m going to stop raving about this novel. This is by far the BEST novel I’ve read this year. I love Emika’s badass character, the world building and the Warcross game and community as a whole. I will definitely be buying the novel when it is available in my local bookstore and read the final version once more. I’m already dying to get my hands on the sequel. 😦 There is a need for more gaming related books like Warcross in the young adult book world. XD

51qdjatw4-l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

★★

I’ve heard numerous good things about this novel. Some of my friends recommended me to watch the show while other suggested the novel instead. Being more of a Korean drama watcher, I decided to read the novel instead. I was pretty hesitant when I started reading this novel as I know it deals with a pretty sensitive subject. Regardless, I did have some takeaway after reading this novel. Moreover, I love the idea of listening to Hannah’s voice through the cassette tapes as it makes it seems like I’m listening from her point of view instead of from Clay’s point of view.

August has been a pretty good reading month in my opinion. Considering all the 3 books I’ve read are rated 4 stars. I expect myself to read lesser for the next few months till my vacation starts. We shall see. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. I was wary of reading Warcross (even though Marie Lu is a best-selling author!!) ,but your sentences describing some of it convinced me! Can’t wait to get my chubby fingers on it!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That would be wonderful! I’ll order it later and get it delivered quickly so I can add another novel to my “forever love” list.

        Like

Leave a Reply

