Down the TBR Hole

Down the TBR Hole is a meme revolving around clearing your TBR list by sorting out books that you aren’t going to read and keeping those you intend to read in the future.

How it works:

  • Go to your Goodreads to-read shelf
  • Order it by ascending date added
  • Take the first 5 (or 10) books. If you do this weekly, you will start off where you left off last time.
  • Read the synopsis of the book
  • Decide whether you will keep it or discard it from your TBR

This is my first time doing a TBR decluttering. I’ve noticed my TBR list piling up like a mountain and finally decided to ‘throw’ away those books I’ve no intention of ever getting to them in the near future. As all of you might already have known, semester for University has started and I’m busy trying to adapt to the new teaching style and also the workload.

35224477

I’m Not in the Band by Amber Garza

I’ll still be keeping this novel in my TBR. I’m still intrigued by the synopsis of the novel and I’d love to read a cute contemporary romance novel. So far, I’ve only seen mangas with a synopsis that resembles this novel. So, I’m excited to see how different this plot would be from those of Japanese manga. 🙂

Final Verdict: KEEP

35099058

Gunslinger Girl by Lyndsay Ely

I’ve heard many good things about this novel. Personally, I love guns and sports shooting in general. Though this novel has nothing to do with sports shooting, there is the presence of guns and definitely tons of action involved. That alone is sufficient to win me over.

FINAL VERDICT: KEEP

35117870

Unearthed by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

This novel hasn’t been released yet and its expected release date is in 2018. I have a really good feeling about this novel since it sounds like there will be lots of action and mystery involved. I don’t see the need to remove it from my TBR list yet since it hasn’t been released.

FINAL VERDICT: KEEP

30237061

Daughter of the Burning City by Amanda Foody

I’ve always wanted to read this novel for a very long time. I even send in multiple requests in NetGalley to review this novel. Sadly, all requests were rejected as I’m living out of the region. However, I’m not giving up on this novel yet! I’m currently waiting for a book sale to happen at my local bookstore before I go and get the novel for myself.

FINAL VERDICT: KEEP

30285562

I think I’m going to let this one go. I no longer feel intrigued by the synopsis when I re-read it again. Contemporary, romance novels are my thing but this novel doesn’t seem to catch my eye any longer. I might give it a chance in the future when I’m looking for a contemporary read. But for now, I will be letting it go.

FINAL VERDICT: GO

That’s all for my Down the TBR hole post. What do you think of my decluttering? If you would like to see more of such posts, do leave a comment down below. I would also love to hear some of your thoughts too. 😀

Leave a Reply

