Warcross by Marie Lu

29385546

Warcross


Author: Marie Lu

Expected Publication: 12th September 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction

Pages: 416

Format: E-Book

Add it on Goodreads

★★★★

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu—when a game called Warcross takes the world by storm, one girl hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

Convinced she’s going to be arrested, Emika is shocked when instead she gets a call from the game’s creator, the elusive young billionaire Hideo Tanaka, with an irresistible offer. He needs a spy on the inside of this year’s tournament in order to uncover a security problem . . . and he wants Emika for the job. With no time to lose, Emika’s whisked off to Tokyo and thrust into a world of fame and fortune that she’s only dreamed of. But soon her investigation uncovers a sinister plot, with major consequences for the entire Warcross empire.

In this sci-fi thriller, #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu conjures an immersive, exhilarating world where choosing who to trust may be the biggest gamble of all. 

Professional gaming, female hacker, VRMMORPG, augmented reality, bounty hunter, Tokyo, Japan… I’m totally sold!!! This novel alone encompasses all the things I love and I know I have to get my hands on this novel once it’s released. Firstly, I would like to give a huge thank you to Penguin Group and NetGalley for giving me a chance to read this arc in exchange for an honest review. I love you Penguin Group! ❤ ❤

I’ve never read any of Marie Lu’s books before and Warcross is the 1st. Nonetheless, I’m completely blown away by the world, characters, and plot. This novel is amazing and utterly captivating. The descriptive texts immerse me into the world of Warcross and the shimmery landscape of Tokyo, Japan. As an avid gamer myself, Marie did a great job in explaining the mechanics of Warcross to the readers.

I’m hooked right from the beginning. Usually, a 400+ page long novel will take me at least 2 days to finish but I finished Warcross in less than a day. I was literally devouring every single page in the novel. XD

Emika is a lovable character. I love how she sticks to her beliefs and doesn’t get swayed easily by other people. I should really learn that from her… Though Emika is a really good hacker, she isn’t arrogant and knows her own limitation and boundaries.

I like how Marie shows the characters traits and abilities through the use of action rather than words. We all know Emika is an excellent hacker and Hideo is a child prodigy, but it is the kind of hacking Emika does and the numerous tools which Hideo invents that show their true abilities and make readers appreciate their talents.

The reason why I’m knocking off 1 star is that I already anticipated the twists even before they occur. As such, I’m not really mind blown by any of the twists. I shall not name any since I wouldn’t want to give away any spoilers. Even so, the major cliff hanger at the end did get me. I was like

412125

Thank you, Marie Lu for writing such an amazing read and for getting me out of my dreaded reading slump. I love you! *insert a million hearts* This is by far, one of the best books I’ve read this year. I will definitely be re-reading Warcross again once I get my hands on the finished copy. I’m so ready for the 2nd novel in the duology. XD

*psst* Someone please make Warcross a reality. I would love to play this game! 😀

14 Comments

  1. I swear, the moment I see someone walking around with this book before I got my hands on it, I’m taking it and will run for my life.
    I’ve been drooling over the cover, the blurb and all reviews for quite some time now and all that drooling and waiting is getting to me big time! This is probably THE book I’ve been waiting for most, longest and hardest, haha.

    Glad you’re so enthusiastic about it!
    [Seriously, if a book can get someone out of a reading slump, you know it’ll be a good one.]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I better hide my book well. No one is taking away my babies from me. XD I was so dam happy when I got accepted for the review request. Like you, this is THE book I’ve been having my eyes on since it appearance at booktubers BEA haul. I’m still waiting for the release to read the finished version.

      Yeah, I have to agree with you on that. Usually, it is the good books that gets me out of my dreaded slump. I’m so energized to plow through heaps of books now. XD

      I hope you will enjoy Warcross as much as I did and I hope to read you review on it in the near future. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha! I can imagine. I didn’t even have the guts to request it; would’ve been denied anyway. My stats really aren’t up there yet to be able to request anticipated titles like that, haha.
        I’m joining a ton of giveaways in hopes of getting it that way, but that probably won’t happen. I’m never lucky when it comes to things like that. :’)

        Haha! Well, that’s only a good thing since we all know every single one of us has a TBR-pile that goes up to the moon and higher. xD

        Fingers crossed I’ll get my hands on it sooooooon. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You should still try though! I used to just request books that I love all the time on NetGalley even if I’m out of the region. I do get accepted for some of the titles and even got my wish granted on one occasion. Sorry for the late reply. University has just started and I’m busy studying all day, everyday. 😦

        I’ve never won any giveaways I’ve joined. Just like you, my luck is really bad. I just stop joining them after a while. LOL. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I’ve done that a couple of times but got denied every single time. I hate getting those mails so I kind of lost the balls to request them anyway, haha. Somehow those mails feel way to personal when I didn’t get approved. :’)

        That’s okay! Life gets in the way sometime, haha.

        I won a giveaway on LibraryThing a little while back so that was yay! Unfortunately it wasn’t a physical book – truly, those are the best giveaways to win. Not that I’d know.. :’)
        I still join them! You never know!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I do get dishearted at the start too. Even now when I receive rejection emails, my heart will just drop and I’ll be sad. 😦 Even so, I still send requests for novels I really really want to read because when I do get accepted, it will just light up my entire day. XD

        Congraz on winning the giveaway. XD I shall give you more of my luck so you may win many more in the future. Yeah, usually winning a physical book is much more rewarding as compared to an ebook. Since you get to touch and feel the book in person. Hmm… maybe I’ll consider joining giveaways too. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. My day just got brightened a whole lot! Got my first ever auto-approval, haha. Even though it’s a fairly small publisher, I’m still over the moon with it.
        I’m going to try to not request anything the next month, though. I’m going on a trip and want to catch up on my own TBR a bit, haha. That’s hardly possible if you keep requesting ARC’s..

        Thanks! Haha, all the luck is welcome! I recently joined a giveaway to get Wonder Woman so it would be a-ma-zing if I’d win that one!
        Yup, indeed! Especially if it ends up being a signed copy! I really want more signed copies. They would make me glow all over and I’d probably end up slamming it in people’s faces to show it off all the time. So worth it, haha!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. XD Congraz! I haven’t gotten my first auto-approvals yet so I’m still hoping I’ll be able to get one soon! Yeah, I stop requesting as many arcs once university started. I want to spend more time clearing my TBR list so I can request and read more arcs when semester break comes. I’ll be going to Hokkaido during the winter break so I’ll be all cuddly and warm while reading on my break. So excited. XD

        I hope that you wil get Wonder Woman, it is one of my anticipated release of this year. I’ve never have an actual signed copy before. It’s difficult to get a actual signed copy here in Singapore. Hopefully I’ll be able to travel to US in the future and get some signed copies from the bookstore there. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      7. I think I’ve read and reviewed three of their titles during the past month, haha.
        Planning to request ARC’s is pretty funny, isn’t it? :’) Especially if you requested an ARC like three months ago and it still hasn’t been approved or denied.. [I have two of those and it’s frustrating!]
        *Googles Hokkaido* It looks gorgeous! Haha, that seems like the perfect reading-moment indeed. :p

        Wonder Woman and Warcross are two novels that I desperately want to own! It isn’t as easy here either. Okay, I do get my FairyLoot and that always comes with a signed plate I can stick in the book but that’s just not the same!
        I’m hoping to go to YALC in London next summer. Even if I have to bring half my bookcase to get them signed, I’ll do so! :’)
        Going to the US is a dream that’s still at least two years off. Traveling can be so expensive.. [And of course we also have to calculate our book budget, so that makes it even more expensive but even more worth it at the same time!]

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Yeah! Once I had a title that was pending for a few months before I finally got approved to read it. I was so happy when I received the email. So, don’t give up hope yet though it is very irritating.

        I would bring 2 suitcases to US if I have too. Books over at US is sooo much cheaper as compared to books here. Especially in used book stores. There is no way I can find new crispy books for $1 here. Yeah, travelling to US is very expensive for me too. Since I’m still a student, my dream of travelling there can only be fulfilled after I enter the work force and start earning money. Well, I’m planning on getting my masters in the states if I do manage to get a scholarship. So, I’m studying really hard now to achieve my dreams of studying abroad. XD

        Liked by 1 person

      9. I’m just going with a “Oh well, I’ll see whether it’ll be approved or not.” haha. Though I’ll probably go crazy if they’d approve it because that particular book will be published about halfway next month and I’ll be on vacation then.. So it would be everything but handy to get approved after all..

        Haha, same here! Like, put the smaller suitcase in the bigger one and fill the biggest with books, books and books!
        Me neither. The only kind of English books I can find for that price are very old ones that I’d probably never read anyway..
        I have a job, but with paying rent and all other expenses, it’ll take a couple of years of saving before I can go there.
        Oh wow, that would be awesome! I always wanted to do that as well, but didn’t get the opportunity. Nevertheless, I’m happy with how my life is. Now if only there’d be more books in it, that would be even better, haha!

        [And I’ll keep my fingers crossed you can achieve that dream of studying abroad!]

        Liked by 1 person

      10. I always so crazy when I get accepted for a novel. More so when I’m on a vacation. Is like you are already so happy on a vacation and upon receiving the news of approval, I can just leap around my hotel room in joy. XD

        Same for me, most books here which are that cheap are really old books. The only time I managed to get a book for less than $2 is at an event where you get a box for $50 and you can stuff as many books as possible in the box. I shared the box with my friend and we got around 18 books each for $25. I was so happy then. Especially since the books are all new and crisp. 😀

        Thank you. It will be 4 more years before I graduate from university. To me the end goal will be worth it once I achieve it. Besides, I don’t want to come out to the adult, i.e. working world, so quickly yet. The working world can be pretty cruel at times. Unless you manage to find a good company with great bosses and colleagues. 🙂

        Like

      11. I just got accepted for two yesterday, right after I left on road trip, haha 😂

        Oh god. Wish I would come across sales like that but I don’t.. At least not when it comes to English books and those are the ones I like reading most. 😅

        I completely get that! My first job was hell when it came to the company, colleagues and boss. Now? I’m quite happy with where I’m at, haha. Hoping I can stay there but only time will tell.. Stupid temporary contracts all the time. 😓

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Congraz for getting accepted. I’m still waiting in anticipation for my acceptance email too. :3

        I’m glad you are happy with your current job. Mine wasn’t exactly nice and it was pretty hellish. Nonetheless, no bad feelings from me. I’ll simply take it as an experience and treasure the things I’ve learnt there. After all, that chapter in my life is already over and a new one has started. Since I have the chance to probably get a better job in the future, I should just work hard towards it now. 🙂

        Yeah, contracts sucks so much. 😦

        Like

Leave a Reply

