The Banished Battle God by 蝴蝶蓝

thekingsavatar

The Banished Battle God


Original title: 全职高手1·放逐斗神

Author: 蝴蝶蓝 (Hu Dielan) / Butterfly Blue

Series: The King’s Avatar / 全职高手

Published on: April 2012

Genre: Light Novel, Fantasy

Pages: 360

Format: Ebook

Add it on Goodreads

★★★★

In the online game Glory, Ye Xiu is regarded as a textbook and a top-tier pro-player. However, due to myriad reasons, he is kicked from the team. After leaving the professional scene, he finds work in an Internet Cafe as a manager. When Glory launches its tenth server, he who possesses ten years of gaming experience once again throws himself into the game. Bringing with him the memories of his past and an incomplete, self-made weapon, his return along the road to the summit begins!

After fighting and scheming, who snatched away my glory? Under the tossing of the wind and rain, my dreams shall still appear as though they had never been shattered. In all its splendor, the path shall never be lost. Before the gazes of millions, this is where I return!

The reason why I started reading this light novel is due to the anime. Since this light novel is adapted into an anime and it is one of the most popular anime in spring 2017, I decided to watch the anime with no prior knowledge that a light novel exists. I’ve always love to watch anime related to games. This anime, on the other hand, is different from any other game related animes, i.e. Accel World, Log Horizon, Sword Art Online, out there. The King’s Avatar is based on the professional gaming league. This means that the technique and skills displayed by characters are top-notch. I’ve always wanted to see what a pro player is like, their knowledge, lifestyle and leadership abilities. Whenever I play a certain MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game) or FPS (First Person Shooting) games, I tend to watch pro players battle it out in championships.

ep1-main-poster

After watching the anime, I was raving about it to my friend when he brought up the existence of the light novels. He read the entire series and recommended me to check out the light novel since it is more descriptive as compared to the anime. Just like what he said, the light novel is much better than the anime. I was so glued to the story that I couldn’t stop reading the light novel. I chose to read the translated version, i.e. English version since I’m not really good at reading Chinese. There are some sentence structure errors since some of it is a direct translation from Chinese. However, the meaning behind the words is still present so it isn’t confusing. I totally overlook the errors and still give this light novel a 5-star rating as the storyline is so captivating and it isn’t easy to translate texts.

37b2ffe1920688e9bd2067a3778562cc

However, I have a feeling that readers who are not familiar towards gaming languages might have a tougher time understanding the light novel as opposed to the anime. The language used in the light novel can get very technical at times and even I have difficulties understanding some of the terms used, i.e. the skills used. On the other hand, you will be able to see the skills used in the animation and there will be explanations for the terms used in the anime, i.e. What is an MT.

meh.png

I still prefer the light novel as compared to the anime as it is far more descriptive and there are some things which are present in the light novel but it isn’t covered in the anime. An example would be the anime skipped out some strategies Ye Xiu used to clear the dungeons. Instead, the anime just showed a scene of Ye Xiu and his team breaking the record.

hqdefault

Another unique aspect of this game, Glory, would be that it is played in 1st person point of view (pov). Most MMORPG is played in 3rd person pov and I’ve never seen one that is played in 1st person pov. I don’t know if there are any new MMORPG which is played in 1st person pov. Do enlighten me in the comments section below if you know any. I would love to give them a try. Playing in 1st person pov is really difficult for an MMORPG. Imagine all the flashy skills which include your character jumping and dashing around to hit the opponent. With all the rapid camera movement, I think I will just puke from dizziness! FPS games are the only games which I know of that is played in 1st person pov. I’m pretty bad at FPS games and I usually take on the role as a sniper in such games. It is difficult to snipe opponents while making sure no one is sneaking up behind you to knife you down. Since I will consistently be looking through the sniper scope to snipe targets down.

I love Ye Xiu’s character. He might seem like a cold-hearted person on the outside but he is actually very humble. Despite being Glory’s #1 player, he doesn’t brag about it. Moreover, he is a really good team leader. Ye Xiu not only knows his teammates really well, but he is also able to decipher the strengths and weaknesses of players he has never met before just by looking at their controls and playstyle. He is able to guide those strangers to their fullest potential by pinpointing their weakness while taking advantage of their strengths. Ye Xiu might be very straightforward most of the time since he doesn’t sugar coat his words. He criticizes players who go overboard while praising those who have done a good job. Those are the reasons why I love him so much as an MC, i.e. main character. Not to mention, he is a total badass. XD

tumblr_or0xb5rhks1tlfk88o4_1280

I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the light novel volumes since I love to see how Ye Xiu gather his team and make a comeback in the professional gaming league. With his leading skills and abilities, I have no doubt Ye Xiu and his team will clinch the top spot in the league.

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

