Forever, Alabama by Susan Sands

33948342

Forever, Alabama


Author: Susan Sands

Published on: 20 March 2017

Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

Pages: 397

Format: E-Book

Add it on Goodreads

★★★★

Everybody loves local attorney and favorite son, Ben Laroux.  Well, at least everybody of the female persuasion–until he meets Sabine O’Connor. She loathes him and makes no secret of her feelings, even when he pours on his famous charm hoping to thank her for helping his family. Ben has never been told no, and if there’s one thing he’s never walked away from, it’s a challenge.   

Sabine hopes she’s finally found peace and safety in the small town of Ministry. She’s changed her name to escape her painful past and her shameful family secrets. Ben Laroux is a gorgeous and sexy complication she can’t afford, but also can’t resist. However, when her past threatens to derail her present and future, Ben might be the only man she can trust.

Forever, Alabama is the 3rd novel in the Alabama series but you don’t have to read the 1st and 2nd novels to understand this novel. The novels in this series are companion novels (correct me if I’m wrong), so it is perfectly fine to treat each novel as a stand-alone novel. The only difference in companion novels would be characters in previous novels will appear in the subsequent novels.

Initially, I was looking for a light, fluffy contemporary read. Boy, this read is much heavier than expected. Forever, Alabama addresses pretty sensitive topics and it is my first time coming across a novel which deals with such topics. The author has done a really good job in writing this novel. The writing style and topics addressed in it pulled me in, keeping me hooked to the story.

The novel is pretty slow and mundane during the 1st half of the novel as nothing really significant happens. It is the 2nd half where the plot starts to pick up pace and the story starts to get more interesting. I marathoned the 2nd half of the novel for an entire evening and was totally glued to it.

I love Sabine’s and Ben’s character. Sabine is a very strong protagonist. Strong as in mentally and emotionally strong. I haven’t read many novels which portray a strong female lead so this is something fresh for me. I like how Sabine handles herself and the problems she faced. I’m glad that she finally escape the “nightmare” she was in. As for Ben, he might be a prick initially. The “perfect” guy that every woman falls for (sorry, but that wouldn’t work on me… >_>). Anyways, I’m glad he finally realize his prince charming behaviour actually has consequences. It has been a joy to follow these two main characters lives and see them grow as a person.

I’m satisfied with the ending of the novel and how everything turns out at the end. The final action packed scene is really good. My favourite part is the final scene where they race against time to save Sabine from that douchebag.

I feel that I shouldn’t spoil the novel for readers who have yet to read it. Rather, I feel that readers should start reading this novel only after reading the blurb and ONLY the blurb. After all, I thought this novel is going to be a clique romance novel from reading the blurb but it isn’t! Forever, Alabama is different from my initial expectations and I enjoyed reading it.

Finally, I would like to thank LibraryThing and the publisher, The Tule Publishing Group, for providing me with a copy of this arc in exchange for an honest review. 🙂

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

