June Wrap Up

Wow, half a year just past by with a blink of an eye. With the end of June, my book blog is now officially 6 months old. XD With that said, I’m really glad that I decided to start book blogging as I have met so many amazing people through it. Well, let’s get on with the books I’ve read for the month of June. I feel that I’m cheating a tad since I’ve been reading so many mangas this month. *ahem* I’ve read a total of 13 books, 4 novels, and 9 manga volumes, in June! That is my highest record thus far. :O

flip-david-estes-663x1024

Flip by David Estes

★★

This is the final installment in David Estes’ Slip trilogy. I love this trilogy to bits and it is by far, one of the best dystopian novels I’ve ever read. The world is spectacular and the characters are unique. I don’t think I will ever stop raving about this trilogy until everyone out there knows about it.

Kimi Ga Inakya Dame Tte Itte by はつはる, Hatsuharu

★★

I came across this manga at icebreaker’s blog. I was looking for a short and cute romance manga read at that time and decided to pick up this manga after reading the positive review. This manga doesn’t exactly have good character development or solid plot but it is a cute, quick read, which I was looking for. This manga literally only have 2 volumes so it is extremely short. 😡

9361589

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

★★

Words wouldn’t be sufficient to describe how much I love this novel. Marco has officially won my heart and become my ultimate bias in this novel. ❤ The worldbuilding around the circus is superb and the romance between the two main protagonists, Marco and Celia, is beautiful. There is so much chemistry between the two of them that you can’t help but ship the two of them together. I will be posting a detailed review for The Night Circus at a later date so keep an eye out for it! 😀

5804872-23

Akatsuki no Yona vol. 23 by Mizuho Kusanagi

★★

This manga volume is the latest manga volume that has been translated into English. I’ve been chasing after this series after watching the anime a few seasons back. The plot is heating up with tension evolving between the two enemy nations. Yona stood up to be the diplomat in order to stop a possible war. I love to see the 4 dragons in action but I love Yona’s courage and growth in this volume. 🙂

kiss-me-kill-you-larissa-c-hardesty

Kiss Me, Kill You by Larissa C. Hardesty

I was really disappointed with this novel as I was looking forward to reading it. The synopsis intrigued me. Emmy isn’t exactly the best protagonist out there as she doesn’t really have an opinion of her own and the romance aspect isn’t well planned out too. Overall, I didn’t really enjoy reading this novel.

5598738-07

Fukumenkei Noise vol. 7 by Ryōko Fukuyama 

★★

I read this manga half way when the anime first came out. I love the anime and all the characters in it. In No Hurry To Shout has become one of my favourite j-pop band to listen to now. Yuzu is my ultimate bias in this series. Gosh… 2nd male lead syndrome again. In this volume, Nino has finally stepped out of her shell and find out what she truly wants to achieve as a member of In No Hurry to Shout. I’m glad that she finally embraced Alice and learn to play music for the band members instead of playing it for Momo. Momo is an utter douche bag. I wish he will just man up and face his feelings head on instead of running away.

Sugar Soldier vol. 1 – 5 by Mayu Sakai

★★

I read volume 1 to 5 for this manga and I decide to only put images of volume 1 and 5 of the manga. Anyways, the title sounds very cheesy though the manga isn’t. Since it is the summer season, I tend to read tons of shoujo, romance manga during this time of the year. I love the later volume in this manga as that is where the characters step out of their comfort zones and start growing. That is also when readers actually get to understand and love the characters more. I didn’t like the male protagonist, Iriya, initially as he is just too perfect. However, I found out the reason behind his ‘perfect’ character in the later volumes and I started to respect him instead.

26074181

The Crown by Kiera Cass 

★★

I’m actually pretty surprised that I enjoyed reading The Crown much more than The Heir. I found Eadlyn to be pretty spoiled and bossy in The Heir but I’m able to see her grow so much in this novel. Eadlyn started listening to her subjects and she learned many things from her suitors. I’m really glad that she is starting to be more humble and modest. It was a joy getting to know the suitors much better. I was confused while reading The Heir as there were so many suitors! However, in The Crown, I get to understand and love every single remaining boy that’s in the selection.

Leave a Reply

