Blood Road by Amanda McCrina (DNF)

31950111-_uy640_ss640_

Blood Road


Author: Amanda McCrina

Published on: 25 April 2017

Genre: Fantasy

Pages: 370

Format: E-book

Add it on Goodreads

Nineteen-year-old Torien Risto has seen dissidents dealt with before. He knows the young local girl who just knifed him will hang for assaulting an Imperial officer, unless he can stop it.

Someone inside the provincial government is kidnapping Imperial citizens and selling them across the desert to the salt mines, silencing anyone who tries to intervene. The girl’s brother is one of those who has been taken. Rejected by the corrupt courts, she’s waging a personal war against the Empire.

Determined to save her life, Torien sets out in search of answers on the Salt Road, the ancient trade route running deep into the heart of a desert—territory claimed by the hostile Mayaso tribe.

Now, Torien is no longer sure where his own loyalty lies, or how far he will go to break the cycle of tyranny, political bullying, and social injustice in an empire that seals its borders in blood.

I was anticipating this novel to be action packed. After all, the synopsis reminded me of ‘An Ember in the Ashes’ by Sabaa Tahir. I absolutely love that novel by Sabaa. So, I went into this novel hoping the plot might blow me away as much as An Ember in the Ashes did.

However, after 100 pages in, I was still really confused relating the characters to their respective roles in the novel, other than the two characters mentioned in the synopsis. Just when I thought I got the hang of telling the supporting characters apart, new characters will show up, and I got all confused again. As such, I placed the book down after feeling that I wasn’t making any progress with it, after 100 pages. However, I decided to give this novel a second chance and picked it up again, only to be met with the same issue. With that, I decided to DNF the novel. With that in mind, I wouldn’t be giving this novel a rating.

I wouldn’t say that the novel is bad as the world building is really good. In addition, this novel talks about social injustice and corruption within the ruling party. Civilians were kidnapped and sold as slaves into the mining industries and the government kept the public in the dark.

On the whole, I guess this novel isn’t really for me. I would still encourage those who have yet to read this novel to give it a chance as I have a feeling that you will enjoy this novel much more than I did.

Finally, I would like to give a huge thank you to LibraryThings and Month9Books for providing me an arc of Blood Road in return for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

