Getting out of a Reading Slump

I have just leap out from a pretty bad reading slump. Been picking up novels only to read a few pages before putting it back down again. With how bad the reading slump is becoming, I’m starting to get worried that I will be running out of dramas and animes to watch. I shouldn’t have jinxed myself back then when I hoped that We were Liars wouldn’t cause me to get into a reading slump…

Since I’m on the topic of a reading slump, here are some suggestions to hopefully get you out of current or future slumps which you might come across.

Don’t force yourself to read a book if you are in a reading slump

If you consistently find yourself picking up a book only to read a few pages before putting it down again, stop trying to continue reading it. This doesn’t mean that you ‘DNF’ the book. Instead, try to give yourself time by doing other things that you enjoy. Otherwise, forcing yourself to read will only make the reading slump even worse. Only pick up the book once you feel like reading again.

Choose to read a novel from your favourite genre

Reading something that you enjoy might just peak your interest and slowly allow you to get out of the reading slump that you are currently in. When I’m in a reading slump, I tend to read more contemporary or mystery books. Sometimes a fluffy cute romance novel might just be the thing that gets you out of a slump. High fantasy books is a no-no when I’m in a reading slump. After all, I remember getting into a really bad reading slump after finishing Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo.

Pick a short read instead of a long one

Picking a short quick read might just boost your morale when you managed to finish reading it despite being in a reading slump. Don’t try to force yourself to complete a huge, daunting novel as it might just get you deeper into the reading slump.

Watch your favourite booktubers

Scroll through youtube and watch videos posted by your favourite booktubers. I find myself watching book hauls, wrap-ups and TBR videos whenever I’m in a book slump. I love watching BEA, Book Expo America, vlogs and hauls especially. Looking at the convention and the fun atmosphere makes me want to actually be there. Usually, I will have a sudden urge to pick up a book right away and dive into its world after I watch my favourite booktubers in action.

Change in atmosphere

You might want to have a change in atmosphere, where you usually go to read. Before getting into this reading slump, I would usually read in my study room. I decided to switch things up and read on my bed instead. I found the change in setting actually helping me to get out of my reading slump. So, if reading indoors might not be working for you, maybe you could hit the nearest library or Starbucks. You never know, a change in setting might just get you out of your reading slump.

I hope those 5 short tips might just help you to get out of your reading slump. Do note that those are just my own tips and what may work for me, might not work for you. What was one of the worse reading slumps you’ve been through? Share some of your tips and tricks in the comments below as I love to read them. ๐Ÿ˜€

7 Comments

  1. Worst reading slump for me started last year and continuing this year๐Ÿ˜ข. Just like you, been picking up books, then a chapter or two I’d stop reading. So I just go watch music videos of my favorite artist or re-reading books I love. Thankfully Shades of Magic came along! Great tips btw.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

