Uprooted by Naomi Novik

22544764

Uprooted


Author: Naomi Novik

Release Date: 19 May 2015

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Fiction, Romance

Pages: 448

Format: Paperback

Add it on Goodreads

★★★★

Synopsis:

Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows – everyone knows – that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose. Uprooted is a hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales by Naomi Novik, the author of the Temeraire series. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

Initially, I didn’t have high expectations for this novel as it synopsis reminded me of ‘The Wrath and The Dawn’, which didn’t live up to my expectations. However, my initial assumptions proved to be false – this novel completely blew me away. The plot isn’t merely about Agnieszka’s life in the tower or her trying to impress and serve the Dragon. Instead, there is so much more to it that you simply didn’t expect it.

I enjoyed reading the exchanges Agnieszka and the Dragon had. It was really amusing to read their conversations since both parties personality were totally opposite of one other. At times, I was surprised that the Dragon didn’t explode from anger and frustration because of Agnieszka’s stubborn behaviour.

The writing in this novel is amazing. The writing is so descriptive that I had an easy time picturing the world in my mind.

Agnieszka’s struggles to learn magic was one of the reasons that kept me hooked to the novel. There were times when I read novels with an excessively powered heroine that caused me to lose interest. In this novel, there wasn’t a specific character with such excessive or exaggerated magic. All the characters have their flaws and strengths. The struggles that each of them faced were different, and that made the novel much more lifelike and enjoyable to read.

~Spoilers~

There is one thing I couldn’t stand, and that was the prince being a mummy’s boy. Even though it was pretty obvious the Queen was unlikely to remain sane after being trapped in the heart tree for 20 years, he still stubbornly insisted on saving his mother. Even if it means blackmailing other people. In the end, he only brought more chaos into his kingdom when it was finally revealed that the woods had taken over the Queen’s body. And to make matters worse, the woods was going berserk killing and planting heart seeds in civilians.

Written by: Joanne

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s