Rose Petal Graves by Olivia Wildenstein

29546138

Rose Petal Graves


Author: Olivia Wildenstein

Published on: 29 March 2017

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Fantasy, Mystery

Pages: 390

Format: E-book

Add it on Goodreads

★★★

Synopsis:

Ancient secrets cannot remain buried forever.

Founded two centuries ago by a powerful tribe of Gottwa Indians, Rowan was a quiet town, so quiet that I fled after graduation. Staying away was the plan, but Mom died suddenly.

Dad said she suffered a stroke after she dug up one of the ancient graves in our backyard, which happens to be the town cemetery. Creepy, I know. Creepier still, there was no corpse inside the old coffin, only fresh rose petals.

As we made preparations for Mom’s burial, new people began arriving in Rowan, unnervingly handsome and odd people. I begged them to leave, but they stayed, because their enemies—my ancestors—were beginning to awaken.

Initially, I was really excited to dive into this world as the synopsis intrigued me. I have a feeling that I’m starting to love creepy mystery books. 😀 After reading a few pages of the novel, I was hooked by the characters and the world. The Faes were so magical and abnormal while the hunters were mysterious and dark. Rowan seemed like a safe town on the outside, since the residents knew everyone as it was a very small town. But deep down, it might not be as secure as it seemed to be with all its past ancestry resurfacing after Catori’s, the main character, mother dug up one of the ancient graves.

I love the characters in this novel as every character have their own unique personality and traits which ranged from being quirky and weird to solemn and serious and even outright stubborn. That aspect caused me to look forward to interactions between the characters. One thing I couldn’t understand was how Cat, i.e. Catori, could easily believe almost if not all the things that the Faes and hunters said to her. In some cases, strangers she had barely met an hour or two ago. I would expect she to be smarter than that, being a medical student from a prestigious university. I guess I shouldn’t have judged a book by its cover…

~SPOILERS~

Out of all the characters in this novel, I love Blake the most. He loved Cat so much and was the most thoughtful and caring character in the entire novel. I was really sad when he passed on and felt even worse when the truth behind his death was revealed. I guess it sucks when your favourite character passed on…

Another problematic aspect which frustrated me was the sudden attraction between Cat and two of the male characters in the novel. Sparks literally started flying when Cat accidentally bumped into Cruz, one of the male characters, and immediately they have this unexplainable attraction between them which didn’t make sense to me. Similarly, in another case, Cat and Kajika, the 2nd male character, suddenly felt that they have chemistry for one another. Before that occurrence, Kajika’s behaviour and actions around Cat didn’t show signs that he was interested in her.

I felt that the reason why I was kept glued to this book was mainly due to the mystery behind the feud between the Faes and hunters. I wanted to find out the reason why the hunters buried themselves and hibernated for such a long time. On the whole, this book was a good read.

Finally, I would like to thank NetGalley and the author, Olivia, for accepting my request to review an advance copy of this novel. 🙂

Written by: Joanne

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

