Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

between-the-lines-400

Between the Lines


Author: Jodi Picoult and Samantha van Leer

Published on: 26 June 2012

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fiction

Pages: 353

Format: Paperback

Add it on Goodreads

★★★★★

Synopsis:

Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah.

And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom.

A romantic and charming story, this companion novel to Off the Page will make every reader believe in the fantastical power of fairy tales.

I don’t think I will be able to express in words how much I love this novel. It was a quick and fluffy read, similar to those fairytales I used to read as a child. However, this novel is way better than those childhood fairy tales.

I love Oliver’s character. Despite being the hero of a story, he wanted a change. Oliver reminded me of a caged bird desperately flapping its wings in an attempt to break free from its restraints. Despite numerous failures, he didn’t give up and kept trying to think of more ways to escape from the book into the reader’s world. Even though all the characters in the book were contented with their tiny worlds and repetitive lifestyles of performing the storyline for the readers, Oliver wasn’t and dreamt of possibilities of being in the outside world. He was afraid of being the oddball in the story since he was the only character with such thoughts. But that didn’t stop him from dreaming.

Oliver stood out to me more than Delilah and that was due to his personality. I wish that I have his grit and fierce determination to push on despite numerous failures. In some instances, I see myself in Delilah. Just like Delilah, I am an introvert that doesn’t like to go out. I prefer to stay in the comfort of my home with a book and cup of coffee during weekends rather than going out and have fun.

~SPOILERS~

With that said, I found the ending in the novel to be rather odd. Delilah tried to alter the ending of the fairy tale in order to help Oliver escape into the reader’s world and she was unsuccessful. I don’t understand how a twist to the ending of the fairy tale would allow Oliver to escape. The explanation proposed by the author of the fairytale as to why an alternate ending was not possible was that readers who had read the fairytale before will have memories of the storyline. Thus, Delilah was unable to change the ending of the fairytale because readers remembered the initial ending.

Instead, Edgar provided a twist to the ending to enable Oliver to escape. No matter how hard I racked my brain, I’m unable to figure out how having a new twist to the ending is not itself an alternate ending. Thus, the story should have reset and readjusted to its original plot when Edgar inserted the twist. In another instance, Delilah attempted to write a sequel to the novel which included Oliver managing to escape into the outside world. However, that proved to be a failure as well.

All in all, I give this book 5 stars because I love the rest of the book too much to drop a star just because the ending didn’t really make sense to me.

Written by: Joanne

Leave a Reply

